MC recognizes staff members’ service at annual luncheon

MC recognizes staff members’ service at annual luncheon

Aug. 3, 2017

Approximately 170 staff members, faculty and administrators of Maryville College gathered in the Clayton Center for the Arts’ William Baxter Lee III Grand Foyer to welcome new employees, recognize outstanding service and congratulate staff members for milestone years in service during the College’s 24th annual Staff Recognition Luncheon on Aug. 3.

The luncheon is held every August to honor staff for 5, 10, 15, 20, 25 and 30 years of service. A total of 22 staff members were recognized for milestone years.

The luncheon started with a prayer of invocation led by Campus Minister Rev. Dr. Anne McKee, who also led a moment of remembrance for three staff members who passed away during the 2016-17 year: Tommy Boring, groundskeeper for 17 years; Charlie Goodson, steam plant operator for 13 years; and Hymead Jackson, Metz Culinary employee for six years.

In welcoming the crowd to the luncheon, Maryville College President Dr. Tom Bogart praised staff members’ commitment to the College.           

Employees recognized for milestone anniversaries

Five-year pins went to: David Rasnake, technical director; Teresa Holloway, telecounselor; Connie McGuire, payroll and benefits coordinator; Pam Boruff, executive assistant; Sharon O’Hern, mail services clerk; Sunny Tune, box office manager; and Alan Upchurch, staff accountant.

Ten-year certificates and gift cards went to: Deidre Dunn, part-time co-head men’s and women’s tennis coach; Millicent Dunn, part-time co-head men’s and women’s tennis coach and part-time cheerleading coach; Tyson Murphy, head men’s and women’s cross country coach, Mountain Challenge program manager and adjunct instructor in physical education, health and recreation; Becky Davis, assistant admissions director – communications; Mary Workman, publication manager; and Mary Anne Frost, administrative assistant.

Fifteen-year plaques were presented to: Hank Williams, maintenance mechanic; Kathleen Farnham, director of church relations; Jeannie Taylor, accounts payable manager; and Laura Caldwell, senior admissions processor and budget manager.

The following staff members were recognized for 20 years of service at the College: Elizabeth Evans, database administrator; Johnni Freer, executive assistant to the vice president and dean of the College; and Karen Eldridge, executive director for marketing and communications.

Eric Etchison, assistant athletic director for communications, and Belinda Kenny, director of corporate sales and events, were recognized for 25 years of service to the College.

Members of the College’s 25+ Year Club were recognized. They included: Larry Ervin, director of multicultural affairs; Pepe Fernandez, head men’s and women’s soccer coach; Vivian Hill, office manager, residence life; Andrew McCall, director of the physical plant; and Sharon Wood, director of wellness and athletic training and adjunct instructor in physical education, health and recreation.

Members of the College’s 30+ Year Club were also recognized. They included: Laura Case, assistant to the president and Board of Directors liaison, Bruce Guillaume, director of Mountain Challenge; Randy Lambert, head men’s basketball coach; Kay Pritchett, student accounts manager and cashier; and Kandis Schram, athletic director and head volleyball coach

Bogart recognized three staff members who had been selected for outstanding service during the 2016-17 academic year. He announced that there were 125 nominations total, and he recognized the nominees for each award.  

Connie McGuire, payroll and benefits coordinator, was named winner of the Nancy B. Hunter Outstanding Staff Award. The award is named in honor of an employee who was noted for both her long tenure and her ability to keep the office running smoothly while her supervisor was traveling for the College. Nancy held the position of secretary to the president of the College for 28 years. Nancy’s influence and love of reading spilled to the community through her support of the Blount County Friends of the Library and the AAUW’s annual book fair.

John Berry, director of information technology, was presented the Martha Hess Outstanding Administrator Award. The award is named in honor of alumna and former Registrar to the College for more than 30 years. Martha’s attention to detail in all aspects of her work and her dedication to the College is renowned. Her knowledge of the institution, its history and people, is now put to good use in her post-retirement position as College History Collection Coordinator.

Chloe Kennedy, assistant director of communications, was recognized with the Sharon Murphy Crane Distinguished Service Award. The award is named in honor of an employee whose spirit of service and commitment to the general good of the College was unmatched. Sharon, an alumna of MC, held the position of director of student life for eight years, but her service reached far beyond her title to include theatre productions, creation of the 100 Days Celebration for seniors and the naming of Isaac’s Café.

Eric Bellah, Staff Council Chair for 2017-18, recognized those employees starting, completing and serving terms on Staff Council.

Bringing the luncheon to a close, President Bogart thanked staff members for their hard work to get the 2017-18 academic year off to a strong start.

By Chloe Kennedy, Assistant Director of Communications

Maryville College is ideally situated in Maryville, Tenn., between the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and Knoxville, the state's third largest city. Founded in 1819, it is the 12th oldest institution of higher learning in the South and maintains an affiliation with the Presbyterian Church (USA). Known for offering its students a rigorous and highly personal experience that includes an undergraduate research requirement, Maryville College is a nationally ranked institution of higher learning that successfully joins the liberal arts and professional preparation. Total enrollment for the Fall 2018 semester is 1,154.