Alumni Citations & Kin Takahashi Young Alumni Award


On Friday, October 26, 2018 the Alumni Awards Ceremony was held in the Clayton Center for the Arts, Lambert Recital Hall from 5:30 - 6:30 pm. Here are the recipients of the Alumni Citations and the Kin Takahashi Young Alumni Award that were honored and celebrated.


Betty Hammers Wiley, Class of 1953
B.A. in Sociology

Betty Hammers Wiley ’53 was the founder and first Organizing Director of the Loudoun ValleyBetty Hammers Wiley Community Center (VA) after serving two years on the first Parks and Recreation Board. At that time, the LVCC was located in an abandoned school building. At the center, she developed a senior citizen program and an after-school program for teens. Betty has been an avid volunteer for the Girl Scouts and a volunteer for multiple organizations including the Red Cross, American Cancer Society, Arthritis Foundation and others. Extremely involved in church choirs until a complete loss of hearing rendered her unable to continue, she organized grants and worked with the American Hearing Society in Washington, D.C. to start the Blue Ridge Speech and Hearing Center in Leesburg. She founded the SelfHelp for the Hard of Hearing Chapter in Loudoun and worked on the state committee for the American Disabilities Act. Along with her husband who recently passed, she was presented the Key to the Town of Purcellville and Jan. 11, 2017 was declared as Dr. James and Mrs. Betty Wiley Day. She is an active member of the MC in DC Alumni Chapter and has taken up painting as an older adult, even having works commissioned and selling her pieces at local art shows.



William Heird, Class of 1958
B.S. in Chemistry
William Heard

Dr. William Heird ’58 (class president) is a retired Professor of Pediatrics at Baylor College of Medicine, Children's Nutrition Research Center in Houston, Texas. He has been involved in both clinical and basic research concerning fatty acid metabolism and the nutritional requirements for optimal growth and development of term and preterm infants. His more than 150 publications cover many areas of pediatric nutrition with focus on parenteral nutrition in pediatric patients, protein and energy needs of low birth weight infants and metabolism of essential fatty acids.
Dr. Heird received the Nutrition Award from the American Academy of Pediatrics in 1994 and was elected a Fellow of the American Society for Nutrition in 2004. He is past Chair, Board of Directors of the Life Sciences Research Office, Inc. (Bethesda, MD). He is a member of the editorial board of the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition and reviews regularly for a number of other journals. He is an ad hoc reviewer for the National Institutes of Health as well as other funding agencies. 

Kin Takahashi Award for Young Alumni 

Frank Twum-Barimah, Class of 2004
B.A. in Business and Organizational Management


Frank Twum-BarimahFrank was introduced to MC by the late George Carpenter ’53 (Alumni Citation recipient, 2007) when he was performing work for the Presbytery in Ghana, Africa. After seeing Frank’s potential, George believed MC was the place for him to grow and thrive.  He, therefore, worked to help him get to the US and into Maryville College. Frank’s passion for service to others started at MC when participating in several student groups that helped those in need in the community. His leadership was honed in SGA all four years. At present time he is working in West Africa in Niger supporting the humanitarian crises for the Hepatitis E outbreak. He is the interim Operations Director for World Vision regional office in West Africa as the Humanitarian Emergency Affairs/Security Manager to the region. This gives him the opportunity to provide technical support to the 8 countries where they operate and help develop the response to large-scale emergency situations. His words are: “Maryville College was a great opportunity to develop and sharpen what the Lord wanted me to do in this world.”

The Maryville College Alumni Association Board Nominating Committee met in late 2017 to review nominations and recommend these recipients to the College’s president and Board of Directors. 

Maryville College offers sincere congratulations and gratitude for the service of these fine alumni. 

Alumni Citation

An award known as an “Alumni Citation” may be made to any alumnus of Maryville College (alumnus to be defined according to the Constitution of the Alumni Association) who has rendered such service in professional, business, civic, social or religious endeavor as to benefit humankind and bring honor to the College, or who has rendered unusual service in any capacity on behalf of the College. 

Kin Takahashi Award for Young Alumni

An award known as a “Kin Takahashi Award for Young Alumni” shall be given to any alumnus/alumna (to be defined according to the Constitution of the Alumni Association), who has, within 15 years of his/her graduation from Maryville College, lived a life characteristic of College legend Kin Takahashi, who, in his 36 years of living, worked tirelessly for the betterment of his alma mater, his church and his society. Learn more about him →

Toggle All

See past award winners here -->

  • 2017 - Shaun Hayes 2006 
  • 2016 - Marissa McInnis, 2004
  • 2015 - Joshua Phillips, 2006
  • 2014 - William Gavin Lodge McCammon, 1999
  • 2013 - Smith Jean-Philippe, 2000
  • 2012 - Christie Latimer Knapper, 2004
  • 2011 - Preston Fields, 2003
  • 2010 - John Trotter, 1995
  • 2009 - Yvette P. Franklin, 1998
  • 2008 - Kristi Falco, 2001
  • 2007 - Kristine Renee Tallent, 1996
  • 2006 - Erin Palmer, 1999
  • 2005 - Adriel McCord, 2000
  • 2004 - Julie Walker Danielson, 1994
  • 2003 - Christen McCammon Khym, 1996
  • 2002 - William F. Lukens, 1991
  • 2001 - John Francis Heidelberg, 1987; Karla Beard Heidelberg, 1988
  • 2000 - Jonathan A. Allision, 1990
  • 1999 - Kandis Schram, 1995

Wall of Fame

The purpose of the Wall of Fame is to recognize outstanding individuals who have contributed to Maryville College athletics. Recognition is in two categories: “Regular membership” is reserved for those student-athletes who competed for Maryville College, displaying excellence in athletic competition. Nominees for regular membership must be graduates of the College. “Special membership” is granted to those people who have been of outstanding value to the Maryville College Athletics Program. Learn more →

Do you know someone deserving of an alumni award?

The privilege of making nominations for any alumni award is given to alumni, past and present faculty and staff members and friends of Maryville College.  Nominations must be received by Oct. 1 to be considered for awards in the following fall.


  • Read the descriptions below and see which award is most fitting for your nominee.
  • Fill out our nomination form.
  • It's also helpful to have materials that support your nomination (vitae, newspaper clippings, commendatory letters, etc.). If you have such items, please either scan and email them to the Alumni Office or mail to:
    Alumni Awards
    Office of Advancement
    Maryville College
    502 E. Lamar Alexander Parkway
    Maryville, TN, 37804.


Maryville College offers sincere congratulations and gratitude for the service of these fine alumni.